PhotographyCorner.com Forums

PhotographyCorner.com Forums (http://www.PHOTOGRAPHYCORNER.INFO/index.php)
-   Photography Equipment (http://www.PHOTOGRAPHYCORNER.INFO/forumdisplay.php?f=13)
-   -   Help with looking for a camera for newbie (http://www.PHOTOGRAPHYCORNER.INFO/showthread.php?t=119232)

themagicman January 21st, 2015 08:38 PM

Help with looking for a camera for newbie

Hi there,

What would be a great camera for a newbie, my budget would be $200-$300..I would like to use it both indoor and outdoor...I would like a few bells and whistles..:) Any help is greatly appreciated..:) Thanks in Advance..:)

agiledogs January 21st, 2015 11:58 PM

Re: Help with looking for a camera for newbie

What type of camera are you looking for.

Point and shoot
dslr (interchangeable lens)

film or digital?

themagicman January 22nd, 2015 12:11 AM

Hi there,
I'm looking for a digital or for dslr..Which of the two is the better one? I'm new at this..Thanks for the reply..:)

agiledogs January 22nd, 2015 12:36 AM

For your budget you are not going to be able to get much in the dslr or other interchangeable lens cameras new. I would look at KEH or the used departments at either adorama or B&H. With all 3 used departments pay attention to condition as you don't want to get something only good for replacement parts. Look for something in the excellent range.

the Sony A7 has been getting excellent reviews and you would also do fine with something like an older rebel Ti of Nikon d90.

The problem though again is your budget...that might get you a body...then you would need to determine the lens you want/need and spend additional money for that.

The same will be true for any Interchangeable lens camera.

I have not looked at point and shoot cameras for quite a while, but again I would look at the major brands, Canon, Nikon,Pentax or Olympus.