Go Back   PhotographyCorner.com Forums > Photography Corner > Member Introductions

Welcome to the PhotographyCorner.com Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, photographs and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), vote on contests like the Photograph of the Month and Contest Corner Challenges, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support.

Archive Suite top banner

#1    Top
Old October 19th, 2005, 08:16 PM
HELP!: a complete and utter newbie to this thing called "photography"

Hello everyone. I'm 21 years old and currently attending a public university in Philadelphia, PA. I'm studying Literature and hope to work for a publishing house after graduate school.

Recently, I've been wanting to tap into my creative side - if it exists, that is - and I thought photography would be a good start. It has interested me for quite some time, but I never thought of pursuing it until now. I enjoy black and whites, especially architecture and human subjects.

Well, here I am - a total newbie. I don't know the first thing about photography (besides the terribly obvious), but it is something I want to possess a thorough understanding of. My goal is not to become some kind of photographic virtuoso, though; I would be totally content with being able to take very beautiful, very refreshing pictures of my surroundings. It wouldn't hurt if other people happen to appreciated them, though. =)

Where/How do I begin? Is anyone willing to share their initial experiences with photography? There is just so much information floating about, that I don't know where to start.