Go Back   PhotographyCorner.com Forums > General Photography > Photography Equipment > Compact Cameras (Film & Digital)

Welcome to the PhotographyCorner.com Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, photographs and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), vote on contests like the Photograph of the Month and Contest Corner Challenges, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support.

Archive Suite top banner

#1    Top
Old September 26th, 2004, 05:56 PM
Elite Member
Newbie trying to buy a digital camera

Yo sup...

I hope everyone enjoyed their weekend...

I am new to photography and I'm looking to buy my first digital camera. I'm looking to buy a camera for basic needs and some amateur photography. I'm not really sure if I'm into photography but I want to try. I'm mainly looking to take pictures of nature and city objects (eg. street, buildings, etc). I also don't have a lot of money and I can only spend around US$300 to $700. So I'm basically looking for a digital camera that is suited for amateur photography (nothing advanced), while not costing a lot.

Given all that, what do you guys recommend? I've looked at a few models and their reviews, and it's hard to tell what I should be looking at. I'm not really sure what the product lines are suited for. The marketing on the company websites are just that: marketing.

For instance, if you want wide-angle shots (say picture of the sky) then what features should I be looking for?