Go Back   PhotographyCorner.com Forums > General Photography > Photography 101

Welcome to the PhotographyCorner.com Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions, photographs and access our other FREE features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), vote on contests like the Photograph of the Month and Contest Corner Challenges, upload your own photos and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact support.

Archive Suite top banner

#1    Top
Old June 17th, 2005, 08:35 AM
Newbie needs advice on buying a camera

I'm just starting out in photography, and I'm reading articles, books and looking at photos and such, but I don't have a camera! My dad has a Minolta X700 with an auto-focus lens that's probably over twenty years old, but he says that it works great. I'm not sure if he'll give it or sell it to me, but I'm thinking that might be a good option if it's a good camera.

Overall, I want something not too expensive since I'm just starting out and I'm a poor college student (just spent $7000 on a new flute... yikes!), but I want something nicer than your average everyday camera that you take on vacation or keg parties (not that I go to keg parties! lol).

I'm also debating whether I should go 35mm or digital. The problem with digital is that I know nothing about Photoshop (although I could learn) and I don't have a good printer (something I'm not sure if I want to invest in yet).

Can y'all help me out? :)
  #2    Top
Old June 17th, 2005, 03:41 PM